One of the original locks from the original Erie Canal (not the barge canal), near Lock 28A in Lyons
The iron straps that lock the stones together are a testament to the technology of the times (between 1817 and 1825) and the strength of the workers.
It’s just a piece of the old canal that no one bothered to fill in when they started rearranging the original and then started building the barge canal in 1905. The barge canal is much bigger, and part of it runs by this old piece of the original Erie (most of the barge canal in Lyons is on the other side of Rt 31).
House? Warehouse? Sitting right on the banks of the old lock; it must have been quite important in its day.
One of the old steam-powered tugs.
Now the tugs are made from steel, not wood, and powered by diesel. And the blue-and-orange are just as ugly on the tugs as they are on our license plates!!!! (What drugs was the Color Committee on when they chose blue and orange????)